Girls Who Code

10153648_924995384184662_7791038385254085198_n

I have decided to make this blog in order to document my Computer Science journey. Right now I am in the beginning of my journey, so I want to make sure that I keep track of my achievements. The biggest one of all so far was GIRLS WHO CODE

What is Girls Who Code and the Summer Immersion program?

  • Girls Who Code programs work to inspire, educate, and equip girls with the computing skills to pursue 21st century opportunities.
  • The Girls Who Code Summer Immersion Program represents an innovative approach to computer science education, pairing seven weeks of intensive instruction in robotics, web design, and mobile development with engaging, career-focused mentorship and exposure led by the industry’s top female entrepreneurs and engineers. (girlswhocode.com)

How has it changed my life?

It has confirmed my interest in technology, and I now love computer science. It makes me so happy and proud to know that I am capable of building such great things! In the summer program, I learned so much. I learned the fundamentals with Scratch, then we also learned Python, HTML/CSS, and JavaScript. Not only did we grow our skills, but also our entrepreneurship and social skills. The girls were amazing, a inspiration to push my self to be the best I could be. Through the summer program with the support of my teacher, teacher assistants, and classmates, I feel more confident on becoming a girl in technology.

I cannot wait to see what the future lies for me in technology.

Leave a Reply

